“There are cannibals among those mountains…X told…” My wife is worried after she saw those photos.

X is her friend and advisor, an anthropology  teacher at the university back home.

Those  tracks that branch off from the highways and vanish into the mountains!

 I am a regular on these highways. Part of my job…

They will be tempting me always… but I can’t afford diversions on these trips. There will be a dead engine or a flickering warning lamp or a whistling noise above 190 km/hr or something similar waiting for me at the other end of the highway. It will be night, always, when I return…

Come holidays and I find myself lost among the mountains… most of the times alone…

My wife knows I travel a lot…

But this was something new to her…

She never turns on my PC…

My family joins me only during holidays… summer holidays and Christmas holidays…

She won’t get time to go near PC, let alone view my photos…

That is not the case with the boys…

“Amma, achan at Carpathian mountains!”

It was Sherlock Holmes last time…

Now it is Transylvania and Bran Castle …

And she saw those photos…

All of them…

She never expected an exotic world beyond those mountains…

After two days the cannibals came up…

I had to promise I will never again take diversions from the highways!

Could my trips have taken me to someone’s dining table? I was curious…

I searched the web for ‘cannibals in Oman’

A very popular search engine gave  704,000 results. I opened many links…  My doubt remains…

I liked the response of a not so famous search engine. It was like this…

“Your search for ‘Cannibals in Oman’ produced zero results. Would you like to search for ‘Cannabis in Oman’ instead?”

